Home | About | Tips & Tricks | Life Savers | Links | Guides | Reviews | Privacy | Cookies | Site Map | Contact Me

Cookies

This site uses cookies. By accessing this site you are consenting to the use of these cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use, visit More About Cookies
Act Now! ORCS Web Managed Hosting


74. Disable User Account Control (UAC) For The Administrator Account Only

While the User Account Control (UAC) acts as a somewhat deterrent to users who are apt to attempt to make changes to the operating system, it can be a veritable pain for the administrator who is responsible for the day to day housekeeping, constantly badgering the administrator for the required permissions prior to an application performing its required job.

However, by making a simple change in the Security options of Vista you can actually disable User Account Control (UAC) for the administrator account, but keep it in place for other users.

1/ Click the Start Button.

2/ From the Start menu, Click All Programs followed by Accessories, then Run.

3/ In the Run dialogue box type: secpol.msc and then Click OK.

4/ User Account Control will prompt you for the necessary authorisation. Click Continue button.

5/ The Local Security Policies window now opens. This window is divided into a Left and Right hand pane.

6/ In the Left Hand pane look for the Local policies option and Click the > button to expand the list.

7/ From the expanded list, Click on Security options.

8/ In the Right hand pane you should see a list of available options (this is rather a long list).

9/ Scroll towards the bottom of the list until you come to User account control: behavior of the elevation prompt for administrators in admin approval mode.

10/ Right Click on this option and Select Properties.

11/ In the Properties window, Click the drop down menu arrow and, from the available list, Select the Elevate without prompting option and then Click OK.

12/ A warning message will appear in the notification area warning you that UAC has been turned off. This message will appear ever time you boot your PC unless you turn off the option to be notified of security alerts in the Security Center of Control panel.

13/ Finally, Close the Local security policy Window.